Hello all

Diamond29er

I signed up for the forum months ago but never introduced myself, so here goes...

Hi.

I'm new to mtb-ing (and cycling altogether) and trying to learn the ropes...and the local trails. I got a NAV for my bike and am wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction for free map downloads. If it matters, I am particularly interested in the following parks:

6 Mile
Allaire
Hartshorne
Chimney Rock
Mercer Park

Otherwise, general advice is welcome. Especially if it has anything to do with how to keep up with ANYONE I ride with. Apparently I'm way more out of shape than I thought. Thanks and hope to see you all on the trails.

Welcome! We need more specifics about your device to be able to help you with maps.
The best way to learn the trails is to ride them. :) Also helping with trail maintenance can be a great way to learn the trails.
Shoot me a pm if you want a tour of Mercer, Allaire or 6 Mile some time.

welcome !

you'll generate bicycle muscles and skills quickly if you keep at it! Keeping up won't be a problem!

Enjoy -

PS - if you call mike.su.....nevermind :D

Ride a lot and you'll get faster. Simple as that. The nice part is that mountain biking is really fun so its not a drag to get in shape.

If you get out and ride 3 times a week at a pace that challenges you, you'll notice yourself being faster after as little as a month I'd assume. Riding with people that are faster than you is a good way to get faster quicker.

Welcome! We need more specifics about your device to be able to help you with maps.
The best way to learn the trails is to ride them. :) Also helping with trail maintenance can be a great way to learn the trails.
Shoot me a pm if you want a tour of Mercer, Allaire or 6 Mile some time.

I have the Garmin Edge Touring.