As I Grow Older....

Mike679

So recent years have seen my time mountain biking steadily decline. From 1996 through around 2006 I only rode in the woods, usually 1-2 times a week and did some indoor miles on the trainer, mostly during the winter months. Never even entertained riding on pavement until I started riding the mtb on the road w/ slicks in 2007 maybe once a month, didn't love it, but at least I was riding.

Got a road bike last year - now it's pretty much all I ride. Only three rides on the mountain bike this year so far. Now, I understand why this is the case. With work, kids and their activities, and just the overall convenience of road biking, especially in my neck of the woods, it makes sense in terms of fitting cycling into the schedule. What I'm finding a bit disconcerting, however, is that mountain biking seems to be losing some of the appeal it had for me just a couple of years ago. With summer coming up and things hopefully mellowing out a bit, I'm hoping to be riding the mtb more than the road, but the convenience is too much to pass up sometimes.

Anyone else experience this phenomenon?

Don't you have any good local trails there?

I live close to the Tourne in Boonton Township and if I have a limited amount of time I just hop on my mountain bike and do a few loops there. If I want a tough workout I ride up to the overlook when I get there (I only ride single speed so the climb up is really hard, close to a max effort just to make it up) and then do a loop or two. It's difficult for me to get as intense of a workout on the road as doing this climb. The other advantage to this is if I'm forced to head out at rush hour I don't have to deal with traffic except for the short ride there and back.

The other thing that makes this so easy is I ride in the same clothes (when it's warm) and shoes that I wear all the time so I just pop on my helmet and gloves a hop on the bike. The hardest part of my pre-ride routine is to fill my water bottle.