Stephen's Newbie Question -- Budd Lake Access

engeler1

Hi,

I'm new to mountain biking and not in particularly good shape. I live on the western edge of Mount Olive, or SE edge of Hackettstown (US-46 and Naughright).

I've got 2 young kids and a wife so free time is at an absolute premium.

For the quickest get out and ride, someone suggested that Stephen's State Park is accessible from the back side of Budd Lake.

Would someone be willing to describe an trailhead from the back of Stephens State Park, and about a 1 hour route for me to go on.

This would allow me to put the kids to bed and run out for a quick ride. Also, if you have more than one route or any other good ideas I'd love to hear them all.

Thanks!

Eric

if mattyb doesn't chime in, PM him but IIRC, the trailhead is on firetower rd or something. all the way up top. there's a parking lot so you can't miss it. i don't know that part of the park so well but like i said, mattyb can give you the skinny.

if you wanted to shoot up to waterloo rd and go from the gate, there's a really good 1 hr. loop in the lower section.

Thanks, I'll take your suggestion to PM MattyB if he doesn't chime in within a few days.

I'd also definately be intrested in learning more about your suggestion from Waterloo Road. I guess mostly b/c I'm newer to NJ and only go to 46 to goto Sam's Club or get on I-80 the whole ITC / Waterloo Village/Road area is the bermuda triangle to me.

Could you describe how to get to the "main gate" and the 1 hour loop you're talking about?

Thanks for all the help!

ERic

Could you describe how to get to the "main gate" and the 1 hour loop you're talking about?

ERic

it's on kinney road. so for you, it's:
46 -> 80W -> 206N ->waterloo road.