Single speed conversion - tensioner?

Soundguy

#SenditGuy
Team MTBNJ Halter's
I want to convert my old c-dale Trail to single speed because it's always been a mechanical disaster and I don't want to dump any real money into a drive train. I'm completely new to single speeding and wondering if there is more to it than I thought. I was just going to order some spacers and an 18t or 19t cog, but almost all the conversion kits I see include a tensioner. I'm also seeing "single speed" specific chains. Is all that necessary? I like the clean look without a tensioner if possible, but again the whole point of this is to eliminate frustrating mechanicals so I don't want to be dropping my chain constantly. Any advice appreciated, thanks.

My $.02 is that unless you have sliding dropouts or an eccentric BB, you're going to want to use a tensioner of some sort. You might get lucky and have a "magic" combo that fits together perfectly but the chain will wear and make it loose at some point.

As to the chain, I'm probably doing it wrong but I use whatever I have laying around that isn't worn out.

You’ll need a tensioner. Assuming that the frame has vertical dropouts, the only way to avoid a tensioner is to “magic gear” it, which i don’t recommend unless you have a stockpile of chainrings and cogs to play with. The chain will depend on what the other parts of your chainring are. If you use, say an 3/32” cassette cog, you will need a compatible chain (8 speed chain in this case.)
An old derailleur can be used as a tensioner, but I have zero experience with that. I recommend the Paul tensioner, as they are not all equal.

I have both a Yess tensioner and a Surly Singleator tensioner, new/never used. Would part with either one cheaply if you're interested.

My SS bikes have always been track ends, EBB, or rockers. You're going to need a tensioner. I've been using 9sp KMC chains for a few years.