This pedal vs that pedal, which to buy

YouRang87

Thinking about getting some new pedals soon. Currently have shimano xt pd-785 the "trail" pedal but I don't want the tail anymore. So I was simply going to get the pd-m780 but shimano just released the new XT M8000 ohhh fancy. More surface area and all that BS. But these cost as much as XTR's, based on the older XT pedal. SO NOW, XT pd-m8000 or XTR pd-m9000??

I have been using the same pair of 520's for almost 8 years.... had to tighten the inner shaft once to get rid of some wobble but other then that they are great. But then I do not race or ride rocks....

I had always used Shimano pedals and had zero issues. A year ago, I bought some Crank Brothers Egg Beaters pedals and love them just as much!. The CB pedals have a bit more float, never get packed with mud and are a snap to clip in with.

I have been using the same pair of 520's for almost 8 years.... .

I get the 520s when they are on sale (can get them for as low as $25 online). last YEARS. zero issues. while i can understand why people would pay more for good wheels, better brakes, nicer frame, etc. etc., I cant really understand why people would pay more for pedals (let alone $420....just crazy) but hey, its their $. of all the upgrades I would like to make someday, pedals aint one of them. the 520s do what I need.

Thanks guys, I have shimano on other bikes and one pair of kicks so I'd like to keep it in the family. The price between the pd-m8000 and m9000 are the same where I'm looking. It's either brand new xt model bragging about 7% more effeciency and 3mm wider or the tried and true xtr based off the older xt. Hmmmm new and wider or great and light...WWMTBNJD