got yelled at by horse riders

prorcracer87

I am new to this mountain bike thing, but ive been to allaire about 10 times and i do know the rules.

2 friends and I were on the way back out to the parking lot after a 2.5 hr ride. We came out of a corner 1/2 mile from the parking lot and saw 2 horses and we stopped right away. I actually locked my brakes up because i didnt want to get too close. by the time i locked up, there was still about 50ft between the horse and us.

The lady riding the horse yelled at us saying that "you never come up on a horse!". I knew this, which is the reason why i stopped. There was no way for us to see the horses until we came out of that turn, and we stopped right after.

Then she proceeded to give us a lesson, she said "ill be fine but you'll be dead a longggg time". i apologized telling her that none of us saw her and rode back to the lot.

Anyone else have encounters with horse riders? If i saw her earlier, i would have stopped 100% no questions asked. But just the fact that it wasnt our fault either, and got yelled at, felt kinda unfair. Oh well, just wanted to rant.

-Cliff

Sounds like you did nothing wrong. I had a similar situation, except that I was not as apologetic as you after receiving the lecture:cool: And I wish I was a monkey, as I would have flung some poo!

I cross paths with equestrian on a regular basis at Allaire. Never got anything but smiles, "thank you for stopping" and "have a nice day" from them.
Sounds like you made every effort in your power to do the right thing. She probably didn't realize this.
Perhaps she and her horse have had previous run-ins with inexperienced riders therefor all MTBers are reckless in her eyes. In that situation, it's just best to bite your tongue and move on.

I wouldn't worry about it. The majority of equestrian play nice.

-Eric

Last edited: