Which Garmin?

stevie.mtb

I am looking to get my hands on a Garmin cycling computer. My main requirements are:
1) enough battery life for a full day adventure
2) turn by turn mapping [that works] where I can download a route off strava [or similar] and use it for the day.
3) not so incredibly expensive where I have no $$ left for bikes haha
The best bang for your buck I've come across in reviews is the Edge 520. Is this true? I hear there's a new Edge 520+...what about this guy? I'm new to all this so if anyone can provide some insight I would appreciate it!
Also, if anyone has experience with another company where the quality is equal if not better, please give me your $0.02 as well

BabyRobot

I have a 520 and have never wanted more out of it.
Garmin puts the battery at 20hrs. Even if it's 15, that is still pretty good. Never been an issue for me. It charges fast as well.
The mapping/routing takes a bit of effort. You'll need to run it through a computer first to make it a TCX file that the garmin can use. At least I do, there could be an easier way. I believe Wahoo holds the advantage here, for road anyhow. The 520+ is supposed to have better mapping though. I have some MTB trails on the 520, but its really just following a purple line in a field of green. It works well enough on the road for routing though. If you really want good maps/routing look at the 800 series Garmins. Trailforks maps work quite well on them.

JerseyPete

stevie.mtb

I have a 520 and have never wanted more out of it.
Garmin puts the battery at 20hrs. Even if it's 15, that is still pretty good. Never been an issue for me. It charges fast as well.