terrain at sourlands

jsdranger

I have yet to ride at sourlands, have heard good things about it, but am unsure of the terrain there. As i am a beginner i am not looking for super technical or super rocky. looking to get my feet wet with different terrain but dont want to get in over my head

any information regarding the terrain at sourlands is greatly appreciated

Thanks

the sourlands is not what your looking for then. thats pretty much why that place is so much fun! :D although its been a while since I have been there.:(

Id say check out Chimney Rock, but thats still a bit tecnical.

it's super technical and super rocky

Imagine a ginormous pile of boulders with some dirt thrown on it and then a huge helping of skull sized rocks and jagged shards dumped on said pile. This is what Sourlands is like. No kidding.

I went for today for the second time and all the rocks were still there.

Have you been to 6 Mile yet? It's a great ride, almost no rocks, fast, fun and friendly.

Yeah this is not what your looking for. Check out 6 mile it's probably more of what your looking for and if you don't know where your going find a group to ride with there's tons of rides always going on especially if the weather stays like this.

to beat a dead horse...

here's an example of what the place has to offer... the trail runs right through the center of the pic.

sourlands1.jpg

if you're an advancing beginner don't be afraid of the place, just expect to hike-a-bike. if you're totally green, i wouldn't recommend it.

if you wanna get your feet wet at a rocky place id say try chimney rock. its IS technical but its not undoable for a beginner. you might be off your bike more than on at parts but at least youll get a feel for it. i hated the place as a beginner but after getting more rides in and expierience i had a great time the next time i went.