Rear Derailleur sticking

iman29

Hopefully this question makes sense.

During my ride today I noticed the shifting seemed noisy and then one my my riding buds noticed it seemed like the chain tension wasn’t correct when I was in the smallest cog.

We pulled over and noticed that in the smallest ring the chain was resting on the chain stay and the derailleur seemed like it was stuck but I could move it by hand. I was able to finish the ride by staying out of the smallest 2 rings. Aside from that all shifting was perfectly normal.

Seems that the cage tension is fine as the pulleys will spring back but where the derailleur bolts into the hanger is very stiff.

I’m already resigned to buying a new derailleur because I have an event coming up in a few weeks and I don’t want to have a mechanical DNF. I probably have like 25K miles on this thing too.

Just curious more than anything else since I am no mechanic and really need to learn more And maybe one be able to do some stuff myself.

And no I can’t set it on fire and buy a new bike. I am wishing I had the means to pull the trigger on the Di2 but it’s not in the cards short term right now.

5BDA4B63-7A1F-4DA8-BC83-E9DA2854A4D0.jpeg

Disassemble the b-knuckle and lubricate, or try to get some thin stuff in around the seals (work it in by turning the bolt with a hex key).

You can take it apart by pulling the e-clip under the threads, and it will spring apart. Note how everything is together before you do it.

I'm not going to lie, I can pull them apart without too much trouble, but it's fiddly, and I prefer not to.

Kinda looks like the derailleur is not attached to the hanger in the correct position?

Kinda looks like the derailleur is not attached to the hanger in the correct position?
I have it rotated to show how it sticks hence the chain slacked and touching the chain stay.