New, older (not elderly) rider in South Jersey

Odiggy

I'm new to MTBNJ.com but have ridden many times in places like Clayton Park,Wharton Forest, Delaware & Raritan Canals, and Wissahickon in Philly. I'm an older guy (46). I used to bike for fun mainly in Philly back in the day. But, my real fitness activity is/was playing basketball. At 46 yrs old, I'm no longer "above the rim" and my knees, ankles, rotator cuff, and fingers are not what they used to be. I really truly like my time on the trails over the past 2 summers and have found it to be a great aerobic workout, but without the impact stresses put on my joints that jumping around on the B-ball court does.
I'm glad I found mountain biking and think I finally found my transition fitness sport now that my best days on the B-ball courts are behind me. I was not looking forward to playing golf.......boring!!!
My wife and I started biking last year when we met. We've since married and now she's expecting, so I lost my trail buddy! She was game for everything too! Anyway, I'm looking to connect with some guys (folks) around my own age (sensibilities) that I can hit the trails with. I can travel and want to find some challenging (not insane) trails in the South Jersey / Philly surrounding area. I'm getting my gear together now and plan on getting a new Motobecane Titanium Fly Team 29er when BikesDirect re-stocks in September. I got my wife a 2011 Motobecane Fantom Pro 29er this spring. She loves it, It's a very nice bike for the money. Too bad she only has until about Labor Day left to enjoy it (1st trimester ends).
Btw, don't get me wrong, I've nothing against biking with younger guys, but if bikng is anything like competitive pick-up B-ball, I'm no spring chicken & don't want to try to play above my level. I can hang though, so I'm willing to try new things at least once.

40 something isn't old in the MTB community. I did a couple of races last year and the two biggest age groups were mid 30's and mid 40s.