170mm cranks vs 175mm...

bergsnj

Whats everyone's thoughts on 170mm or even 165mm cranks to cut down on pedal strikes? Seems like the trend is going to 170 right now.

ive been riding 170 for the past 3 years. my sb5.5 which came with 175 got immediately switched to 170 because of to many random strikes. im sure you could adapt your riding style with 175 but there doesnt seem to be a benefit to riding 175s.

when holding the two cranks side by side there is nearly a 1/4in difference but when riding it seemed to make a huge difference

That is a 1/4" difference in length, so the seat goes up 1/4". At the top, the knee doesn't come up as far (if i'm picturing it right,
it is 1/2" less) - On my fatbike, this might be more comfortable because i'm running the seat a bit low because no dropper.
mechanical advantage is reduced - not sure 3% makes a difference.

Never thought about the pedal strikes - i just thew a few extra psi in the shock to reduce sag.

I run 170mm on one bike, 175mm on all the others and although it's only 5mm, I can feel the difference from a pedaling perspective. I have relatively short legs and the 170 feels slightly more natural. It's definitely not a huge deal and not enough to make me swap out my 175 cranks.

I don't know for sure if I would notice the 5mm difference with rock strikes, because I've not swapped the different sizes on the same bike, however I suspect I might. I say that because fairly recently I tried to run 27.5 plus wheels/tires on my hardtail and the increased rock strikes were quite noticeable. I measured the BB drop, but can't remember exactly what it was. I believe it was more in the ballpark of 10mm or even slightly more, but still I remember being annoyed and surprised at how noticeable a relatively slight drop was. So....from that I would deduce 175 to 165 would definitely be noticeable to me, and 175 to 170 might be.