Black Run Preserve Conditions

frickster

Went out for a night ride last night for first time in a long time and although there has not been any recent rain, there was quite a bit of flooding in places. I don't know the trails well enough to tell you exactly where, but there were definitely spots I've ridden through before that were impassable last night -- all near the lakes.

Just a note to be careful - we rode right into (and wiped out) a giant mud puddle we didn't see that was covered with silt.

Anyone doing night rides now?

fiftyfixe

Hi Glen, We rode last night 6:00. We park at Bradock Mill and Kettle Run Rd There were two groups out there last night.

m-con

During recovery from foot surgery, I've spent some times walking the trails, doing light clipping and clearing. I rode last week for the 1st time, and the trails are in superb condition. Come on over!

BigDB67

Did my first ride at Black Run Preserve ever today. I am a rookie so my concept of conditions may be a bit off...

Blue trail has a bridge out on the blue trail. Also further down the blue trail there is a HUGE beaver damn.

Some soggy spots that where passable on my 26er. Had a blast until my buddy got a flat and realized with BOTH left our pumps on our road bikes.

sandman

Hey Sandman, I was there this morning from 7-8:15! I agree, it was sandy as hell!
What does one do in an hour 15? Our night ride is 2 hours, and our Saturday rides are 3+ hours, no mater what part of the pines we are in.

BigDB67

What does one do in an hour 15? Our night ride is 2 hours, and our Saturday rides are 3+ hours, no mater what part of the pines we are in.

I am not too familiar with the trails, so I can not tell you exactly where I am going! I still have plenty of trail to explore.

Are you guys planning on doing any organized rides? It is only 10-15 minutes from my house so I can be there in no time if you can tolerate a slow rider!

sandman