Switched to Clipless

Astark

Whale Farts
I made the switch a few weeks ago and it has been a struggle. I started riding strictly on the road and my local fire road to get used to feel. All was good and i was constantly practicing clipping in and out.

It was then time to hit the trails, first down hill a few times then started with some easier climbs. All was good except I fell a few times. Nothing too bad..increased the level of trails just a bit and i have been getting my ass kicked. Biggest issue is i have trouble unclipping fast enough on my right side...or unclippijg if gravity isn’t in my favor.

All i hear from fellow riders is how great it is. I’m clearl not seeing it.

Any advice?

The biggest mistake I see in most new users is trying to pick their foot up off the pedal while twisting, but that lifting action actually makes the pedal grip harder. You want to push your heel downward and away from the pedal, almost like sliding off to the side. Once you get the hang of that it turns into muscle memory and you'll find yourself putting a foot down without even thinking about it.

Pick a dedicated foot as the first in and first out. I teach new riders to clip their right foot in before the mount the saddle and clip their left foot out when stopping. This will become more automatic over time. Of coure there will be times when the right foot needs to come out first, but in general this technique works for most.

I'd ask what pedals you are using?

I've been on shimano spds since the late 90's and although i've tried others, I keep coming back to these. I recommend using the m530 with the bigger platform and the mutlirelease cleat until you have better mastery of the pedals. These cleats will prove to release too easily, but they are great for learning.

I use clipless pedals on all my bikes including my DH bike.