Does anyone go riding here.

Blackie

Wildcat Ridge in Rockaway

My first post and new to riding. (( Wildcat Ridge )) I use to ride up in wildcat on my dirt bike. That was 20 yrs ago. I did know the trails at that time. I bet now alot has changed. Was wondering if anyone goes there now would like to go on my mountain bike.

Last edited:
Marty's...

...Bicycle shop runs and andvance level ride there every week. Details are on there website.
I've never been there but would be interested in exploring it after work one day since I work right in Parsippany.
Where else do you ride?

i rode there A LOT growing up and have ridden there a handful of times since i started riding again. as mentioned, marty's does have a ride up there. it's a night ride so come prepared. it's not the kinda place you want to be w/o good lights.

anyway, the trail network is pretty vast and if you don't know your way around, you will end up with a whole lot of hike-a-bike stuff. however, ride with the right folks and you'll find that it's one of the best kept secrets around.

just beware the pagans after dark. :eek:

All this hike a bike and advanced level talk makes the place sound fun. Is there techy maintained trails there?

yes, there are some folks that ride there. It is not as "polished" as most of the other parks. The trails see lots of "other " trail users and it has an affect on the condition of the trails. It is more of a "Wilderness experiance", with all the abuse that comes along with it. The local JORBA Chapter is working very hard to improve the trail system. In fact was out there both Wed and Thursday evenings working on a new re-route. More info here:

http://www2.jorba.org/index.php?title=Wildcat_WMA

http://www2.jorba.org/phpBB3/index.php

I was there about a month ago. If I had to guess, I would say it is similar to what Allamuchy North probably was 10-20 years ago. Tons of potential but still raw. I enjoyed the ride there.