Do you even lift, BRO?

walter

Fourth Party
Paging current gym goers. I've been noodling around the gym inconsistently for about 2 months now, mostly 2-3 days a week. I've pretty much been doing 2 or so exercises per body part per visit. I'm in no need to get huge, just would like to get tone and some definition going in my 41 year old body. I did a Tough Mudder event this past summer, and while my leg and lungs had plenty of juice to get me through the course, I kinda bonked in the upper body strength department (specifically the back to back 8 foot walls we had to scale), so I'd like to build some upper body strength and endurance as well. Been using mostly mid weight range with higher reps.

I'm looking to do 3-4 visits M-F and save weekends for riding. Not looking for an ab day per say, as my oldest daughter and myself have been doing the P90x ab workout a few days a week. My question is, whats a good way to split up a routine. Is it still Back and Bi's, chest and tri's, shoulders/legs type of thing? I know there are a ton of workouts on the webs and every body is different, but what/how do you folks like to split up your gym visits?

For added info- 41 y/o. A hair over 6 feet, currently at 205 with 22% bf. On workout days, I use a pre-workout drink, a post drink and then whey protein. Multi and fish oil included in the daily mix.

I think that's it for now. Thanks for the guidance!

@mattybfat nailed that one. also, if you get bored of cranking out reps, slow those exercises down. 4 sec down, 4 sec up. vomit and repeat.

To be honest, I really like the p90x videos. even when time is short the 30 min p90x3 videos are good.