2012 Scott Scale 29 Team

Biker Dude

I've posted a couple times now about 29er's, asking for opinions for a new 29er in the $700 range. I finally broke down and bought one, the Scott Scale 29 Team.

First, some backround. I started riding mountain bikes a little more then 4 years ago. My first mountain bike was a Dick's Sporting Goods Iron Horse with full suspension (coil). I didn't know that it was bad for a bike to weigh 50 pounds so for a while it worked. After about 1.5 years I saved some real money and bought a Trek Fuel EX8 full suspension. It was, and still is, an excellent bike. I love it. However, although it is way lighter then the Iron Horse, it isn't 'light'.

I also read a lot about biking, between magazines and forums (mostly this one) so you read a great deal about the 'kool aid' of the 29er and how they are taking over the MB world. And the bike stores I went to seem to tell the same story. All said they sell more 29er's then 26.

I was going to buy a different 29er and was supposed to pick it up, but my friend made me check out 'Kim's Bike Shop' in New Brunswick, where he got a great deal on his bike.

They just started selling Scott bikes and had one of their 29er's in my price range. I rode it and really liked it, saw the component list and then bought it. I paid more then I was originally going to pay for the other bike, but this bike has so much more and is a year newer. That was 2 weeks ago.