With all of the "trail conditions" talk lately...

rlb

I'm wondering if the number of trail damage issues surfacing this month are normal? I'm new to mtb so this is my first winter. I know during the spring there is always going to be a thaw/muddy period to contend with, and there will always be uninformed or selfish people riding trails at that time. However, I've seen posts stating that Allaire, Hartshorne, and Mercer have been fairly abused at this point and its still winter. Are there usually this many people barreling through the trails when conditions are so poor?

stb222

Love Drunk
Jerk Squad
yes, this happens every year, maybe some local people to the trails can comment on this year compared to others. This is one of the colder winters we have had in a few years. Given that most of january was in the 20's and 30's, a bunch of the weekend warriors weren't going out because it was cold (ironically they didn't know it was the best time to ride in the winter), so when it got warmer, everybody just wanted to hit the trails, maybe causing more damage than in past years.

clarkenstein

JORBA Board Member/Chapter Leader
JORBA.ORG
i've ridden for a bunch of winters, and the trails (unfortunately) get rutted up every winter and spring.

warms spells during the winter usually add to the amount of ruts as people usually dont equate sub freezing temps with mountain bike rides, so they get out when its nice and warm. i cant blame them for that. i just wish more people will either stick to the road or start urban riding (or start digging some DJs!) to avoid the rants/arguments that usually ensue over poor trail use judgement during the freeze thaw time...