What wine are you drinking now?

Shaggz

A strong 7
Full disclosure, I do this for a living. However, i do not directly represent most of what I like to drink, and you will not typically find them case stacked in every store.

While better known for roses, I love Gerard Bertrand Cotes de Roses chardonnay from Languedoc. It is not your mother's flabby KJ.

20190830_185721.jpg

Roadie

Red. I don't know, up ta $50 I guess.
I am a big Ridge fan. 39701922-262A-467C-AA03-620ECF2CBC48.jpeg They make an Estate Cab and a Merlot that are pretty great. Can be hard to find but Stirling Fine Wines gets them in every so often. Easier to find and a little less pricey are their Geyserville or Lytton Springs blends. No cab or merlot in them but for me they are usually better than anything in their price range ($30ish)

Shaggz

A strong 7
Love Ridge, I have a sentimental connection to Lyton Springs Zin as my wife paired this with the first meal she ever prepared for me over 20 years ago (Boston Market Chicken, all the sides and homemade brownies).

TBH, no need to spend $50 on wine, and Napa Valley prices are out of control. At one point I would have said Washington Merlots are my desert island reds and their cabs are really great, too (opposite of CA, WA merlot big, bold, cabs are softer and more approachable).

Wines from Spain are fun and reasonably priced, so easy to explore. Portugal is another go to region (several years ago they dominated WS Top 100).

Roadie

How'd the 11 show?
It was drinking well. Red fruited and balanced. Nice floral aromas too. Great vineyard and producer. Our last bottle.

Agree with you on the lack of value in Napa. I think most Bordeaux in the $20-$50 is going to be a better value than anything from Napa

Jmann

Never gonna let you down.