"What the fudge is a downcountry?"

In actual talk. As we dumb down trails further and further every year to compensate for the Zwifties and NICA kids, Downcountry makes a ton of sense. I'd really like to see a spot in NJ where you need more than 130mm of travel outside of a Bike Park.

I routinely use every bit of my 160mm riding in Ringwood, Wayway, and up in VT. Yes there are some sweet jumps involved. All you peeps who ride in Ringwood, you know what I'm talking about. Even if Jumping isn't involved, the travel is nice to have when I'm in bombing or in monster-truck mode. I will never trade down in travel unless I'm forced to move somewhere smooth and flat.

As an inexperienced rider in the market for a first real bike eventually, all this shit confuses me. Trying to wade through new hype vs outdated personal preferences is exhausting. Sure, I could/will demo bikes. But A. I'm not experienced enough to actually know what's good. And B. They're all $6k builds and I'll only be able to afford a $3k build, which will operate much differently. Meh.

As an inexperienced rider in the market for a first real bike eventually, all this shit confuses me. Trying to wade through new hype vs outdated personal preferences is exhausting. Sure, I could/will demo bikes. But A. I'm not experienced enough to actually know what's good. And B. They're all $6k builds and I'll only be able to afford a $3k build, which will operate much differently. Meh.

The dirty secret is the 3k build isn't much different than the 6k build. But it's in a different universe than the 1k build.

Buy used. But really the bikes that are the "newer" geometry that started coming out 5 years or so ago is that much nicer that what was before it. People are figuring out they don't need an XC race bike when they don't race.

The dirty secret is the 3k build isn't much different than the 6k build. But it's in a different universe than the 1k build.