Summer Camp 2019

Robin

Yes - this is a "blog" about our summer camp adventures. I asked @SpartaBard if we should post something about our summer camp program. He said "sure" - I mean, who doesn't love seeing kids on bikes!

A little background - the program has been running for over 10 years at Morristown Beard School. One of the original people who got the program going is @SpartaBard. In 2010 I happened to post that I was off for the summer (I'm a teacher) and I was in the right place at the right time. I was asked to join as a mountain bike instructor. This is my 9th year - I took last year off to enjoy the #summerofrobin - but was pulled back thanks to Brad.

Our camp runs weekly, Monday through Friday, for 5 weeks. Kids ages 10-14 can sign up for one week or the whole summer. We meet at the Morristown Beard campus each morning and ride a different park each day.

IMG_20190701_081313.jpg

While we do have some very funny stories, we'll post photos and highlights from each day. I'll be posting my rides also in the Halter's thread too (sorry if it's a repeat). Enjoy!

Last edited:

Robin

Beginner Week - Day 1 - Loanaka and Patriots Path

Today was our first day of camp. This week is what is called "beginner week", which is more for a new mountain biker. Due to family schedules, we often get experienced and returning campers. This week we have 13 campers - of which a few are returning campers and also family members of those on the forum. We are seeing more NICA kids too (yay #morekidsonbikes)!

We started over at Loanaka Park for some skills and assessment. Not the most interesting ride, but it gives a chance to watch how kids ride and if they have the needed skills for the two groups we split into.

IMG_20190701_093049.jpg