Studded tires...'tis da season

Kaleidopete

So I've been running studded tires every winter for five years now. Two fat bikes.
Studded Dillinger 4's and five on one and Bud & Lou with gripstuds on the other.
In these five years with hundreds of miles ridden, I've only lost about 4 or 5 studs.
Now the bad news, I got a new bike with 2.8 tires, so I bought studded Terrene Cake Eaters.
The tires ride and grip great! I only have a few rides on them though. The problem is my first
ride was 8 miles, my second ride was 7 miles. Came back to find out I'd lost 9 studs and I also
found 4 just about falling out. I fixed the loose ones and installed new ones where needed. I
also put a good glue on my new installs hoping they will hold better. Today I did another 7
mile ride and when I came back I found I had lost 6 more studs! Now I'm riding the same
conditions I've always ridden with my studded fat bikes. Disappointing problem with these
new tires. I'm running 15 psi on these 2.8 tires, tubed. My fatties run lower at maybe 8 or 10 psi.
I don't think that would matter though. I'm just putting this out there for those that might want
to stud up this winter.

It's good to hear real feedback about these tires--there's a ton of information about people buying them, not so much about using them.

Most studded tire manufacturers recommend you ride them a few miles on pavement first to settle the studs. I'm sure you're aware, but a possibility if you forgot to do it.

Last edited:
It's good to hear real feedback about these tires--there's a tone of information about people buying them, not so much about using them.

Most studded tire manufacturers recommend you ride them a few miles on pavement first to settle the studs. I'm sure you're aware, but a possibility if you forgot to do it.
I did get the few miles in on pavement, I didn't know that rule, it just is how I rode.

Might have missed it, but were they the fronts or rear? Could it be related to pedal assist?