Review of SRAM Wheels?

Glenn Rides After 4 PM CST

Team MTBNJ Halter's
SRAM ROAM 40 29er wheel set

I have been riding the roam 40 for about 2 months and absolutely love them.There claimed weight is about 300 grams lighter than a stock stans arch ex 29 set that I was riding and you can definitely feel the difference.

Carbon wheels are about 800 each and the weight saving wasn't that much for me to notice.
https://www.sram.com/sram/mountain/products/sram-roam-40-wheels

Last edited:

Kirt

JORBA: Chimney Rock, Team MTBNJ.COM
JORBA.ORG
Team MTBNJ Halter's
Glenn--posted weighs on each

Roam 1695g (29") $749 retail

Arch EX 29er 1775 grams $595 retail

jdog

Shop: Halter's Cycles
Shop Keep
I have a season on the roam 60 carbon wheels.

I think they are super. You can spend more on enve wheels and get nothing for it.

They work well setup tubeless and they seem bomber tough.

I replaced the alloy nipples with brass as I have zero luck with alloy nipples.

Pearl

THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING
Utah should reply, he offered solid advice with carbon vs alloy MTB wheels. I forget exactly what it was, but it made me stop looking at replacing my crests with carbon wheels of any kind.

Kirt

JORBA: Chimney Rock, Team MTBNJ.COM
JORBA.ORG
Team MTBNJ Halter's
When I borrowed J's scalpel that was the 1 thing I really noticed about his bike, the carbon wheels. I personally loved them. They were stiff, especially compared to my Stan Golds. But not bone jarring stiff. I would grab a set in a heartbeat. Or a set of Stans Valors.

muddybike

Team MTBNJ Halter's
I have a season on the roam 60 carbon wheels.

They work well setup tubeless and they seem bomber tough.

I replaced the alloy nipples with brass as I have zero luck with alloy nipples.

Awesome ! Thanks for that. What problems were u having with alloy nipples? Mine kept unscrewing, but a drop of lock tight in each one did the trick.

jdog

Shop Keep