Newbie to MTB

Alex

Hey guys, newbie here.
I just purchased my first real mtb about a month ago as a new hobby and maybe lose some weight in the process and get in shape. I said being round is a good shape. People tend to disagree :(
Anyway, I've been riding Manasquan Reserviour just to get my stamina up and so far did 3 laps yesterday. Sometimes I tow my kids in the trailer as the view is very scenic and they enjoy it, esp when they see dogs.
I've heard a lot about Allaire and I've seen video in youtube (rollercoaster) but I'm still a newbie, not into very technical rides.
I'm very happy to ride and this is mine. Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29.

Attachments

• AC1_1436.jpg
    AC1_1436.jpg
    118.9 KB · Views: 164

Patrick

Overthinking the draft from the basement already
Staff member
Welcome! Yes, get to the allaire tues nite rides. good people there with a wealth of knowledge, and just fun.
head down south too. Look for some trail maintenance dates, and go help out - great way to meet people.

while you are at it, check out http://www.jorba.org - our coordinators, and advocates in the state.
join that team!

MTBing works great for losing weight - the board has lost over 45,000 lbs in total. (i made that up, but it has to be close)

Cheers!

jackx

Welcome Alex!

With a nice new 29er and theMTBNJ forum, you are in for a lot of fun exercise.

What they said above. ^^ This is a great forum to meet people to ride with.

Arwen's Mom

Mother of Dragons, Breaker of Chains
Welcome Alex! Allaire is a good park to get started in. Especialy if yoou have a quide that knows the "easiest" trails.
My tips for a beginner: go at a pace you are comfortable with, dont try to keep up with everyone else, and it is ok to walk your bike when tired or dont want to try riding over something.
I would be happy to give ya a tour of Allaire. If schedule allows you, the Tuesday night beginner rides there are awesome.

mike_243

JORBA Board Member/Chapter Leader
JORBA.ORG