New here and to mtb generally

Chill

Hi all,

Noob here. Just got back on a bike this summer after not riding since my teen years (aside from one fun downhill biking experience in the Poconos last summer). I picked up a cheap hybrid on Craigslist (Liv alight 3) and biked around Manasquan a few times a week this summer. I tried some easy routes in Allaire twice and ended up walking through lots of sections. I don't have the funds to invest in a mountain bike at the moment and don't even know where to start with biking there, or if it's impossible with my current bike. Any advice you can offer would be welcome, thanks!

Paul H

Fearless OOS Poser
Welcome
With that bike, I would prolly walk some sections of Allaire as well. Not saying its a bad bike... its just that mtb is not what that bike was intended for.
Keep building fitness with the bike you have now and save. There is no need to rush. The trails will still be here when you are ready.

icebiker

JORBA: Morris Trails
JORBA.ORG
Welcome! You might want to start out riding some of the rail trails around NJ. Most of those that are dirt are quite smooth and suited to hybrid tires. Paulinskill and Sussex Branch in northern NJ are nice, and scenic too.

Patrick

Overthinking the draft from the basement already
Staff member
Welcome! Good advice on building fitness. Other choices that will give you miles of riding are there D&R canal path.

With a bit of walking, Six Mile Run would give you more of an 'in the woods' experience. Mostly flat single track.

Keep riding! Good sport, good people.

rottin'

Staff member
Team MTBNJ Halter's
Welcome! If you're willing to drive a little bit north from Manasquan there are the paved paths at Sandy Hook that I take my wife and her hybrid all the time. We love it there.

scott62