my new fun/commuter bike build?

Pearl

THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING
im a complete noob to building bikes, so this is going to be a build journal.

i found this bike on the side of the road for sale. i offered the guy 10 dollars for it, and he sold it to me. this is what i came home with:
img036.jpg

lol @ reflectorzz

im trying to build this bike for under 200 dollars.

so far the tab:
bike: $10
aircrapft remover: free :)

after a day of stripping parts, throwing crap out and keeping what i need, this is whats left:
P1010510.jpg

P1010509.jpg

here is a close up of the dropouts:
P1010506.jpg

i want to run a flip flop hub, do you think i will have an issue? my current mountain bike is a single speed, and i must have a magic gear, because i dont need a singulator :)

the next thing i hate about this bike:
P1010506.jpg

stupid welded on kickstand. i will have to remove it before it drives me nuts!

things i want to buy:
flip flop hub
some nice wheels (nothing too pricey)
new straight bars
debating on running front or rear brake

am i missing anything else?

ebineezer

cool find!

DSC00516.jpg

i actually just got an old bike that i had in my garage tuned up and brought back to life. Its a 1989 Panasonic, and in real good condition. I noticed you mentioned converting to a flat bar...that is something i also had in mind. let me know how you decide to go about the conversion
brian
:getsome:

Last edited:

The Kalmyk

DSC00516.jpg

i actually just got an old bike that i had in my garage tuned up and brought back to life. Its a 1989 Panasonic, and in real good condition. I noticed you mentioned converting to a flat bar...that is something i also had in mind. let me know how you decide to go about the conversion
brian
:getsome:

Nice ride...I'll post up my old schooler...can you get the tire pressure up to 100 with that pump

ebineezer

the pump was on the bike when i got it, haven't used it yet...it looks pretty cheap so i dunno

MTB Aussie