Looking for something better. My mind needs to be kept busy.

Dave Taylor

Rex kwan Do
As you all know we relocated to the Frederick, Md area last winter. We love the area, yes, miss NJ too, but this is our home. I have done several jobs in my adult life but am in serious need of change.

I was a working foreman at my last job and would love something along those lines again but, I am currently a field welder/machinist for a Caterpillar equipment dealer. I do enjoy welding and machining but the work load is not consistentand quite honestly that messes with my head. I realize I need to surround myself with more people and interact more, it’s who I am. I almost feel disconnected at times when I am on a job site alone or sitting in a shop “waiting”. Unlike a lot of people I need physical labor. I don’t want to sit at a desk or in meetings all the time. The miney and benefits are great where I am but the happiness is not there…open to suggestions.

Patrick

Overthinking the draft from the basement already
Staff member
Could you go mobile and run your own business?
Not sure what a fitted-out truck would cost, but seems like they are always rolling.
You'd be cultivating customers, working advertising, maximizing pricing,
scheduling, prioritizing, etc.

You are in the government work belt down there too. ??
Maybe chat up @michael.su ?

Also a big aero area. Seems like that would be high-stakes, high-paying.

Dave Taylor

Rex kwan Do
Not sure what a fitted-out truck would cost, but seems like they are always rolling.

Hmmm. I’ll rephrase a bit. I enjoy welding and machining but am not digging heavy construction really. That’s what pays in my line of work. At one point I was considering going out as a pipeline welder but a certain political figure kinda killed the pipeline industry for at least a couple of years.

mattybfat

The Opinion Police
Team MTBNJ Halter's
Site inspector?