Learn me about GPS/Bluetooth Watches.

Pearl

THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING
I don't typically wear one, but I'm thinking I may want to. I like this idea of having a GPS/Bluetooth watch while riding instead of the head unit. upload straight to Garmin, bluetooth connect with power/heart rate. Hoping to find something that would be a sports type watch, but also just a regular everyday watch. Is this possible?

Can I have some expert advice please? What seems to be the starting point for this? Can a watch actually replace the use of a head unit?

Pearl

THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING
momma has a Apple Watch, thinking something like the Garmin offerings that look like a real watch doe

Mahnken

I've been wearing the fenix 3hr for a couple years now, pretty much 24/7. My Garmin edge 800 broke right before I got it and I haven't missed it, the watch does it all.

Santapez

Team MTBNJ Halter's
momma has a Apple Watch, thinking something like the Garmin offerings that look like a real watch doe
You first should break it into:

A) Do you want a smart watch?
B) Do you want a sports watch?

Because really it's clearly divided between those two and there's no watch lineup that works well for both. For a smart watch, you want a touchscreen. For a sports watch, you DON'T want a touchscreen. The nice screens on a smart watch kill battery life.

Make sure it supports the sensor types you want/need. Garmin gets annoying in that they don't support power on the lower end watches, purely to force you into the higher end models. For instance the 245/245M that I use is a great watch, absolutely love it and only take it off when I shower. But it doesn't support power. Nor does it support maps, multi-sport, etc. Would need a 945 for that stuff, or the new 755. But if I'm just riding along and want to record the ride, it's right there and I don't need to bring a head unit.

So my question is, what are your must-have features?

Really the only upsides I see for a head unit: