Jumping Help?

mtn

Anyone be able to help me with jumping technique? YouTube videos only teach so much. Unfortunately it seems like the only sessionable tables are at mtn creek.

FrankV

Anyone be able to help me with jumping technique? YouTube videos only teach so much. Unfortunately it seems like the only sessionable tables are at mtn creek.
Hard to explain it to someone when they are not with them. I’m still learning myself and I feel the best way is to have an experienced rider tell you what you are doing wrong instead of “how to do it”. Take a video of yourself and put it up here for everyone to criticize it. Might just help you

JPark

In theory the High Bridge jump trails would be perfect for you to practice jumping but they are actually pretty tight and challenging.
However, the first table-top on the blue trail is nice to practice on if you wanted to session it. The rest of the trail can be difficult to maintain your speed with all the doubles and tight turns.

Reactions: don

Ian F

Last year I made a concerted effort to get my jumping mojo back (since I had lost it sometime when I was a teen over 30 years ago). What I did was spend a few sessions at Thunder Mtn in MA and rode Gronk (a blue level jump trail designed/built by Gravity Logic) until I got it. A few takeaways from that recent experience:

1. Pull up. This is a kinda "well, duh..." but it really was an epiphany moment for me. While a well built jump will arc you over it, you still need to be an active participant in the process. Just letting everything go can result in the dreaded "dead sailor" and a possible OTB landing.

2. Once in the air, move the bike around. This is sort of an extension of the above.
Do a little whip, pick the front wheel up and move it back down to catch the landing, or whatever.
Basically, the idea is you always want to be in control of the bike while in the air and not the other way around.