Hydraulic brake upgrade

Rollin Dice

I'm looking to upgrade from my BB5's, Shimano SLX looks like a good choice but wondering if anyone has any other suggestions. I've never done this before, is there anything I need to be aware of before buying? they come pre bled and looks like should be a fairly simple job, do I need to replace rotors? if so, what should I get

SLX is a solid choice; it's just a slightly heavier XT. You don't necessarily need new rotors as any rotors will work, but because rotors aren't super expensive it definitely wouldn't hurt. A rotor does wear down and lose thickness just like a pad, so you don't want to have crappy performance right off the bat. The install is simple, but the only problem you may run into and need a shop for is if you need to cut the hydro lines shorter and you don't feel comfortable doing it yourself.

SLX is a solid choice; it's just a slightly heavier XT. You don't necessarily need new rotors as any rotors will work, but because rotors aren't super expensive it definitely wouldn't hurt. A rotor does wear down and lose thickness just like a pad, so you don't want to have crappy performance right off the bat. The install is simple, but the only problem you may run into and need a shop for is if you need to cut the hydro lines shorter and you don't feel comfortable doing it yourself.

Are you sure they're heavier? They don't have cooling fins. Steel cotter pin instead of a steel screw holding the pads in. Lever is missing a reach adjustment on the SLX.

It seems Shimano had 4 product lines to put brakes into but had a hard time actually trying to differentiate them. The Deore levers I have need a hex tool to adjust reach where the SLX has a knob. It's such a silly difference.

Are you sure they're heavier? They don't have cooling fins. Steel cotter pin instead of a steel screw holding the pads in. Lever is missing a reach adjustment on the SLX.