Hi all! Newbie here. Entry-level bikes?

joenova

Hi everyone! Very new to MTB and just joined today. So new, in fact, I took my 3 year-old cheap Walmart bike over to 6 Mile Run on Monday and it basically fell apart, lol. The brakes barely stopped me, the gears kept slipping, the seat came loose, and by the time I was done the handlebars came completely loose and had to walk out the last few hundred feet. Thankfully was able to borrow an Allen key from someone (next time I will be bringing my own multi-tool).

Anyway, as I said, I'm very, very new to this and am looking for suggestions in the $600-$1000 range. I see some entry-level Giant bikes for around that price but wasn't sure how reliable they would be at that price point. I will likely not be doing many technical trails until I get more used to the sport at which point I fully intend to upgrade but until then I'm just looking for something that will hold up while I get my feet wet.

MadisonDan

Team MTBNJ Halter's
Welcome! Sorry to hear about your experience, but not shocked.... Bikes are still difficult to find. If you can stretch the budget some more, that may open up a few more options. Since you mention Six Mile, check out Halter's. @jdog may have some ideas for ya. Good to support local shops, especially that one, if you like Six Mile.
Looking at used bikes ( https://www.mtbnj.com/forum/forums/bikes-for-sale.20/) is another way to make your $$$ go further.

EJphotos

Welcome! Yeah an entry level bike like the Giant you mentioned will be tons better than the Walmart bike and will make trail riding more enjoyable. Plus, youd have the bike shop who have put it together, who actually know what they are doing, plus the bike will come with a warranty and the customer service can easily be handled through the shop.

MissJR

not in the mood for your shenanigans
Team MTBNJ Halter's
welcome!