Ecommerce...getting started. Can anyone give some real world pointers?

Dave Taylor

Rex kwan Do
As some know I have helped develop, design, refine and fabricate different products. I have plenty of hands-on experience and have done a few unofficial businesses. In the early days I did very basic Ebay sales(I listed, sold, packaged and shipped individual products that I sold. I have done welding lessons at my home as well as local bicycle repairs. Custom welding, fabrication and metal art as well. What I have not done is been able to figure out how to start a legitimate business. I tend to be an over thinker and find it very difficult to navigate the gray area.

What I would like to do is start an e-commerce business. It seems like this is the way to go but drop shipping and arbitrage seem to be the wrong way. Any tips from successful business owners? I have some friends who have done this but rarely do they seem to share specific details. Obviously Amazon, Shopify, Etsy etc. I have watched countless YouTube videos, grant cordon videos(LOL I guess) but I just need help taking the next step. I am willing to do the work, have funds to get started but am like a deer in the headlights. Maybe an answer on here isn't the best way but if someone is willing to help a dm or phone call would be greatly appreciated. 908-727-3447. Dave

Note: I am not looking to get rich fast but looking to change my life for the better. I feel a lack of knowledge when it comes to being an entrepreneur but at the same time I feel I have too much knowledge to be doing what I am doing.

Patrick

Overthinking the draft from the basement already
Staff member
Start with what you know.
That is the key to any business.

Do you want to sell a product?
Do you want to be paid to review products?

How will you differentiate you/your product?

Watch some of the videos of the youtubers that are just taking subscriber "subscriptions" - they have some number of hours of content,