Dual Sport Bike Advice

Matt_

I Get Jokes
I grew up riding quads and dirt bikes. Then I had a Honda Intruder 800 in high school and bought a Honda VTX 1800F when I graduated college.

Against my wife's wishes, I sold my VTX before our son was born... as a contingency she made me buy my first quality mtb, hence where I am today.

Anyways... my son now has his first quad and we started riding my old trails (all legal, but private property... neighbors I've known since birth).

I don't have a ride so I've been borrowing one of the neighbors ATVs. Now I'm contemplating getting a dual sport. Something I can take in the trails with my son and do my short 12 mile commute to work with.

Having never been in this realm.... looking for advice on which years/makes/models to look at.

walter

Fourth Party
Honestly, if you don't plan on shredding trails like an endure pro, any of the KLR's, XR's, DR's will do just fine. Those single cylinder 4 strokes are pretty much bomb proof. If you want to murder trails, KTM. Ive owned a KLR650, and although it was a tank, it was highway speed capable and awesome on gas.

Matt_

I Get Jokes
Considering I-195 separates me from my parents house (&trails), highway capable is a consideration. Can still take back roads, but I'm one of those that would rather have the power and not need it, rather than being short on power and wishing I had it. Is the price difference significant?

jdog

Shop: Halter's Cycles
Shop Keep
I went through 5 bikes till I got it right.

Start reading up on the ktm 350 Xcf-w. (The w version is street legal, the exc version has blinkers too for $1000 more, but you don't need em)

It is street legal, fast enough on the road and a blast in the woods.

Reach out if you want to see mine or ride it.

ktmrider