Car mechanic to bicycle mechanic???

GTCHAMPION1

Hello all, I have been a Mercedes Benz technician for almost 14 years and about 20 years on the field, I have always been passionate about bikes and I have been working on my own bikes since I was a kid(probably since 10 years old), as a car mechanic I own well over $100k on tools, at this moment I am on furlough, I do not have bike tools pretty much only really basic stuff, but I don't know if this is the time for me to try to be a bike mechanic or not, at this moment I know I can spend about $8k on tools to start, even though I have work on my own bikes, I have never replace any bottom brackets, newer style headsets, and I have never built a wheel, pretty much I do not have experience with bikes, I don't know if I should make the move, and in don't know if the pay will be right. Last time I was at a Mercedes training center, a couple of guys from Illinois were making fun of another fellow technician because he left a Mercedes dealer to become a bike technician in Chicago, but I don't know for how long this guy was a car Mechanic. Once again, my life is turning wrenches on cars but since I been at home the last 2 months I don't know what would be the best decision. I don't even know if I will ever get hire at bike shop and this is something I am extremely afraid to talk about with my wife. And I can't even open my own bike repair shop because of my lack of experience. Please no negative comments. :confused:

Dingo

My advice with 42 yrs of turning wrenches in gm dealershits... If you can find a way out of dealerships DO IT! Do it while your young. You will probably take a hit in income, but it will be worth it for your mental and physical health. Oh and clear it with the wife first.

GTCHAMPION1