Building a solid multi use trail

Gene

The Dancing Machine
I have ridden many trails throughout the state. We truly have a wealth of knowledge on trail design, builds and maintenance.

I am a resident of Essex County and know that I am constantly swimming against the current on approving mountain biking here. Luckily I am stubborn and not going anywhere for a while. I had written the South Mountain Conservancy about my contributions to South Mountain Reservation over the past 10 years from chainsaw work to trail maintenance. I work with Dennis Percher and others and while I received a "we tried that and it failed" I still believe we can make a difference due to the increase in mental relief that the outdoors provides many.

In regards to JORBA, I have had email discussions with Tom Hennigan about building a new proposal to the county. Yes, the conservancy worked with JORBA and IMBA in the past on a proposal and due to supposed death threats the proposal never made it for county approval. I knew @mergs also did a TON of work in a nearby park (Hilltop) during that time...

I have built a connection with many mountain bikers that ride throughout the reservation. I want to restart what was once prematurely ended due to hatred in our community by the non biking community.

So, what is the point on this thread....

1) Proper trail design and building
a) Many, many years ago I attended an IMBA class on trail building. The architects of many of the great trails were there.
b) Is there a JORBA initiative that brings all of these great minds together?
c) How can we move forward to build trails that last a lifetime with proper drainage, leverage against wear\tear and fun

2) Advocacy
a) Has there been a correlated effort to avocate to the non-biking community?
b) What pros\cons were taken away from advocation
c) NYNJTC has a huge presense in many trail networks throughout the state. Has there been any partnership? (ref: https://www.nynjtc.org/)