Big feet/flat pedals?

Frank

Sasquatch
I've been riding for many years and always used spd pedals, even when I raced dh in the early 2000's, but recent events have me wondering if I've been doing myself wrong. I tried running flats but never felt love for them, especially on sketchy, technical sections where I was happy to be clipped in so I didn't have to worry about coming off the pedals. Over the last 5 years I've been experiencing swelling issues in my feet and after x-rays from a podiatrist, it turns out that I have arthritis in my big toe joints which flare up from time to time. A friend had told me to get rid of my "clown shoes" for a couple of years now and I have been hesitant as I never thought the two were related, but a link to a web-site got me thinking. I have size 13 (48) feet and always put a lot of pedal pressure on the balls of my feet and that's where the pain usually starts after a big ride.

And now my question is....
  1. Does anyone else have the same type of arthritis issue?
  2. How do you treat it?
  3. Has anyone switched to flats as a result of foot issues?
I will add that I ordered a pair of the Catalyst pedals as they have a larger platform and will hopefully support my foot better.

Any input is appreciated.
Thanks,
Frank

I switched back to flat pedals many years ago for a different reason (recovering from ACL replacement) and never looked back. Accept the fact that there is a learning curve, and you will probably hate riding flats for a month or two. Stick with it! And definitely get yourself a pair of 5-10 shoes.

I don't know anyone who has tried the Pedal Innovations personally, but I have followed James Wilson (founder/owner) for a while and he is legit. He has a few workout programs geared towards MTBers that focused on core exercises and mobility. He can get a bit preachy with the "Gospel of flat pedals" but usually gives solid advice.