Bell?

OneTrackMind

I'm new to mountain biking so I've been reading a few threads on this forum to make sense of it all. I read about riders ringing their bells. I don't have a bell on my bike. Is it necessary to have one? I'm afraid with my luck I'll end up with a constant jingling noise in the background from some loose part inside the bell.

I have a bell. It is a polite way to let other trail users know you are nearby or coming up behind them. None of the bike specific bells will shake and ring unintentionally.

If you put a cowbell on your bars??? Well...that would be annoying.

I'm new to mountain biking so I've been reading a few threads on this forum to make sense of it all. I read about riders ringing their bells. I don't have a bell on my bike. Is it necessary to have one? I'm afraid with my luck I'll end up with a constant jingling noise in the background from some loose part inside the bell.

Only if you're on a single speed should you have a bell. Thats mainly to annoy the gearies soft peadling up the hills:drooling:.

Thanks.

I do have a single speed but I need a lot more practice before I can pass the geared bikes uphill. I'll get myself a cowbell then.

Last edited:
I'd recommend it. a bit more polite and actually, I think, more effective way of getting people out of your way :)

I use this type of bell. Its easy to tuck in near your lever and isnt very big.

66124dd2-698e-4acb-ae8d-7cf3082f5c51.jpg

Only if you're on a single speed should you have a bell. Thats mainly to annoy the gearies soft peadling up the hills:drooling:.

.....and those gearies with exceptionally large testicles that continuously get caught in their saddles.

A bell is really good to have. It helps us know if it's black or grizzly bear crap.

The niner I'm selling has a bell on it. Same bell as Wobbegong showed in the photo. For $2K, I'll sell you one just like it and throw the bike in for free.

Last edited: