Am i too much of a porker to ride?

D

DANSPANK

I thought that might grab attention!

So I'm still relatively new to NJ and have only ridden the 1 time with Jason and Gerard back in October or something last year. I don't ride every week, not that it means I sit around and eat burgers, I just do other stuff. But I certainly don't ride every day and race on weekends like most people on this sight seem to.

So, when I see posts for rides I think to myself, as someone who has only recently made it up that bloody hard hill at Tourne once without stopping, would I be slowing these guys and gals down?

Ok, get to the point! Is it worth making a note on ride posts along the lines of "Race Pace" or "Stroll in the Park" etc.

Whadoyathink?

KenS

JORBA: Director
JORBA.ORG
I generally dont post a pace when I post rides. To me that means anyone who shows is part of the group, and a "group" should ride to the slowest persons pace, or at a minimum wait for people at intersections and such when the group splits into different paced mini groups. Its all about the fun.

If I want to go shoot for a personal best I will either ride alone or with someone faster than me and let them know not to wait up.

If someone is pressed for time (All of trail "x" in 2hrs, I have to be at my wedding after the ride) or wants to ride a certain pace (Slow as fawk) thats cool too, I think it just has to be made known ahead of time.

Shaggz

A strong 7
I saw a similar issue brought up on another board, regarding the group leader's resposnibility not to drop anyone on a ride. I think most of the guys and gals that post up should/would cater a ride to all levels, unless they specify a pace. However, I have been on some "below average" that well outpaced my regular pace. I guess if you are uncertain, it is always best to pm the folks involved. Personally, I will look for any excuse to slow down, so you can always ride with me.

Jason

JORBA Board Member/Chapter Leader
JORBA.ORG