2019-2020 XC Ski

pooriggy

Team MTBNJ Halter's
This being a website about mountain biking information, it's understandable that 3 people are interested in xc skiing but nonetheless, I post about it and pass information on. XC skiing, like Voodoo is often misunderstood, we tend to have stereotypical images of both but in reality there is more to it.

IMG_20191204_125739.jpg

XC is a calling, I can recall seeing some college kids skate skiing in a pace line at Grafton VT about 10 yrs ago, it was beautiful to see in person. I became a student of skate skiing soon thereafter, eager to learn, get better and keep learning. I'm a competitive person who goes all in physically, so naturally I take skiing to the level I take mtbing, granted I'm a better mtber then skier but I've been mtbing longer and don't live in VT. I did a race last year and plan to do two this year, if upstate where closer I'd do more.

I'm still a student of XC skiing, I like to think that every year I learn more and perfect my technique however I do have to confirm with my buddy Paul what V1, V2 and V2 alternate are at the start of each season. Also, listening to Saul is also a good refresher, I think he could have a future in stand up comedy.

Post up your xc ski adventures, questions, gear, voodoo...
Listen to Saul.

ebarker9

Given the recent weather it's not looking promising for any adventure reports so figured I'll keep things rolling with some technique and equipment discussion.

Suggested topics:

-Skate ski V1, V2, V2 alternate technique. Any good resources? From what I've seen, my fumbling attempts were similar to the V1 technique but I'm not that clear on the differences.
-Classic skin skis. Sounds interesting. Anyone have experience on these?
-Skate ski equipment. Any major differences here? Doesn't seem like there's the same breadth of options that exists within the classic ski category.

ChrisG

Unapologetic Lifer for Rock and Roll
I'm for sure interested in this.