Newbie to mt biking and need some advice

T

trek686

Hey everyone,

I graduated from college this past May so I needed a new hobby to keep me out on the weekends and away from my parents house as much as possible. I just picked up my first mt bike in about 8 years yesterday so now I'm on the search for gear. I need a helmet and I want so advice on which ones are good. Also, what are some good sites for parts and helmets?

Next, my buddy and I are going to ride this Saturday. We were considering heading up to Jim Thorpe, PA or Allamuchy State Park. Which does everyone recommend? Any trails that are good for an intermediate level?

Last, I picked up a Raleigh Mojave 5.0. Any know issues or recommendations on must have upgrades for the bike?

Thanks,

Trev

Pearl

THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING
all i could suggest is:
the helmet (you could spend from 30-100 easily) just get something that fits good and feels comfortable. dont ride without one! you will be hassled.
gloves (no one likes calicises!)
water, lots of water (because you can never have too much :)

and just ride! worry about upgrading stuff later. get out and have a good time!

mike_243

JORBA Board Member/Chapter Leader
JORBA.ORG
water, lots of water (because you can never have too much
all of what Perl said plus for water your best bet is some sort of water pack instead of bottles for a few reasons.
1. you can carry an extra tube and the tools to change it you do not want to walk 10 miles back to the car.. :(
2. when you fall on your back it gives you a coushin.

BTW: Welcome aboard

Allamuchy Joe

Not White House Approved
JORBA.ORG
Hey everyone,

I graduated from college this past May so I needed a new hobby to keep me out on the weekends and away from my parents house as much as possible. I just picked up my first mt bike in about 8 years yesterday so now I'm on the search for gear. I need a helmet and I want so advice on which ones are good. Also, what are some good sites for parts and helmets?