help with chain falling off

chemgirl

Team MTBNJ Halter's
I got a new Cannondale Synapse, and I have only about 6 rides on it so far. I'm doing my first triathlon next week and will be riding this bike, but I'm having problems shifting. I don't know if it's the bike or me:hmmm: I am very new to the road world.

If I'm pedaling slow, I can shift up into the big ring just fine. If I'm moving at 20+ mph and I shift up into the big ring, the chain moves onto the ring and then keeps going and falls off the outside of the ring. This happened everytime I shifted on my ride yesterday. I'm in a middle cog when I shift so it's not an issue of crossing the chain.

Anyone know why this is happening? I need to get it straightened out by next week. Is it something I'm doing or do I need my derailleur tweaked?

MixMastaMM

Team Bulldog Rider
I got a new Cannondale Synapse, and I have only about 6 rides on it so far. I'm doing my first triathlon next week and will be riding this bike, but I'm having problems shifting. I don't know if it's the bike or me:hmmm: I am very new to the road world.

If I'm pedaling slow, I can shift up into the big ring just fine. If I'm moving at 20+ mph and I shift up into the big ring, the chain moves onto the ring and then keeps going and falls off the outside of the ring. This happened everytime I shifted on my ride yesterday. I'm in a middle cog when I shift so it's not an issue of crossing the chain.

Anyone know why this is happening? I need to get it straightened out by next week. Is it something I'm doing or do I need my derailleur tweaked?

Bring it back to the shop where you bought it. Sounds like the cables have stretched a bit.

Norm

Mayor McCheese
Team MTBNJ Halter's
You need a tweak. The chain is just being thrown too far to the right (looking down) when you shift.