Big feet/flat pedals?

ReverendNewman

I've been riding for many years and always used spd pedals, even when I raced dh in the early 2000's, but recent events have me wondering if I've been doing myself wrong. I tried running flats but never felt love for them, especially on sketchy, technical sections where I was happy to be clipped in so I didn't have to worry about coming off the pedals. Over the last 5 years I've been experiencing swelling issues in my feet and after x-rays from a podiatrist, it turns out that I have arthritis in my big toe joints which flare up from time to time. A friend had told me to get rid of my "clown shoes" for a couple of years now and I have been hesitant as I never thought the two were related, but a link to a web-site got me thinking. I have size 13 (48) feet and always put a lot of pedal pressure on the balls of my feet and that's where the pain usually starts after a big ride.

And now my question is....
  1. Does anyone else have the same type of arthritis issue?
  2. How do you treat it?
  3. Has anyone switched to flats as a result of foot issues?
I will add that I ordered a pair of the Catalyst pedals as they have a larger platform and will hopefully support my foot better.

Any input is appreciated.
Thanks,
Frank

I personally never got anything outta clipless pedals except bad falls. Yeah, I understand the efficiency of them etc. But my kinda riding these days I prefer flats. U don't have to think ahead when u start to fall, u just have to put ur foot down. LOL

Ian F

Frank - what kind of clipless pedals do you run? While I still run small platform pedals (Crank Bros Candy) on my road bikes, I've pretty much completely switched to larger platform enduro and DH clipless pedals on the mtn bikes.