car advice

anrothar

entirely thrilled
i'm considering a vehicle with better fuel economy for my trip to alaska. i will be at the bottom end of the buying $cale, probably between $1500 and $2300. so that pretty much restricts me to japanese, which i'm fine with(all my vehicles have been so).

been looking around, and am wondering what peoples experiences have been with high milage subarus? i've found a few within my range. one is an old impreza hatchback with 143,000 miles. if it were a honda or toyota i wouldn't bat an eye, and i bought my trooper when it had 147,000 on it and it's been great. but i have no experience with subarus, and you don't hear about them the way you hear about the legendary reliability of honda and toyota.

i know several of you are subaru fans here, so let's hear it. good and bad.

Last edited:

Norm

Mayor McCheese
Team MTBNJ Halter's
I bought a Subaru maybe 5 years ago, less than 150k miles, and the transmission went in about 2 weeks. Probably a bit of bad luck there.

A friend of mine bought the same sort of car and he was a big time DIYer. He spent most of his weekends working on the car and was happy to be done with it.

anrothar

entirely thrilled
did you get the trans replaced/fixed? if so, how did it run after that?

assuming your friend got rid of the car?

Norm

Mayor McCheese
Team MTBNJ Halter's
Nah, we donated it and took the $2000 tax deduction. Our mechanic told us it was a bad idea to bother and sort of scolded us about having bought it in the first place. We got a '96 VW Jetta after that for $4400 and it's going on 5 years this spring.

Yeah, my buddy dumped the Subaru a few years ago.

cem

on my third