New from Monmouth County

Minotaur

Hey all...

My name is Frank, I live in Tinton Falls near GSP Exit 102. I'm primarily a weight lifter: 5'5" and ~216 lbs.

I started riding a mtb about 12 years ago: a Raleigh M50, no suspension. I rode it on road, knobbies, and all, never did any off road or trails. I rode all over... from Eatontown to Long Branch beach to Rumson, out to Dorbrook Rec. Area, alone and with the Jersey Shore Touring Society bike club. The most I was ever able to comfortably ride was 28-30 miles. I can't do that today! :(

A few years ago I was told by a bike shop that I took the bike to for maintenance that it was too old and expensive to tune up, even if the parts could be obtained. So I was talked into a hybrid. Good bike but it wasn't what I wanted.

Fast forward to this year: I'm in Sports Authority (stop laughing) and saw a Columbia Twin Peaks mtb (stop it! :mad: :D). It's made by Iron Horse, so I was encouraged. It's full suspension, and really a great ride. The price was good for just starting back riding. I've been really loving this bike.

So, I've been road riding it around... 8-15 miles. But lately the trail bug has bitten me. I started with Manasquan Reservoir last week, for a couple of laps. This past Sunday I jumped right into Allaire State Park. I clocked ~8 miles and 1 hour 47 mins. riding. I was drenched, dirty, beat and happy as a pig in... well... you get it.

I've been doing some internet searches for parks and trails info and have gotten a good amount. I'm planning on hitting a different park every week, finding my faves and making a rotation out of them.

So, I'm hoping to learn more about trail riding. Thanks for having me in. :)

SpartaBard

Welcome aboard!

you should definitely check out some of the other Monmouth County parks including Huber Woods, Hartshorne, Clayton, and maybe Shark River. The first 3 definitely. Huber and Clayton are great places to get back into the swing of things.

Minotaur

Thanks... ;)