Crankset

J

joanqs

I need to buy a new crankset. I am currently using an old race face crankset, 172.5 mm (although I could use 170mm). I have not shopped for bike parts in awhile and wondered if anyone has any suggestions? I honestly don't even know where to start and don't use any one bike shop regularly.

anrothar

entirely thrilled
that's a pretty good deal. i honestly don't know enough about the competitors to shimano in the external bearings/hollow axle market. have had bad luck with race face since the change over.

Shaggz

A strong 7
Race Face Evolve

I have been using this for almost 2 years now, and am very pleased with it:

http://www.raceface.com/components/cranks/evolvexc-crank.htm

It has gotten mediocre reviews from the 29'er crowd on this board, but I have no complaints with it. Reasonably light, stiff and easy to work on, and you can get some real good deals from the on-line retailers. I munched the big ring going over a big log roller last year, which was subsequently replaced with a race face bash guard. but that was a case of my poor riding ability, not an issue with the component.

anrothar

entirely thrilled
oh, and yes. you will most likely have to replace the chain and rear cassette if replacing all three front rings.

J

joanqs

well, i brought my bike to the shop today and they are trying to convince me to change this bike into a single speed. umm..scary. if not i will go with the xt components as suggested by anrothar. either way i won't get my bike back until next Thursday. Looks like i will be hitting the surf and/or some road riding. thanks for your help guys.

J

joanqs