Can you have fun at Mountain Creek if you can't jump well?

rog2e

I was thinking of going but what is the minimum skill you would need say on the green trails to have a good time. I've been riding less than a year and mostly doing the trails around Morris County (lots of climbing and lots of sketchy descents lol). I'm not very good at jumping. To give you an idea, I went to High Bridge and thought the beginner trail was still a little too advanced for me. I didn't feel comfortable attempting to get air on any of the small jumps because I felt that there was not a lot of room for error on the landings (like I would end up going off the trail or overshooting a berm). Should I get more comfortable with drops and jumping before going to a place like MTN creek? Thanks

Last edited:

Ian F

I would say yes, you can have a good time at Mtn Creek if you can't jump well. It's not all jumps and drops there. That said, it is also a good place to learn those skills if you want to. Starting with the progression drops near the bottom.

A Potted Plant

Honorary Sod
TBH you can but not for very long, the trails are a mess and will beat you up unless you bring something with longer travel to save you. Jumps will come when they come Nassau is a good place where you can learn jumps tbh I feel like the small jumps are better then creek because they're not beat to shit

FrankV

I suck at jumps, but I do have to say that the blue trails have jumps that flow way better than highbridge. They will boot you in the right curve if you keep yourself loose and neutral on the the bike. The tech at creek is why I go there, if you like rock then the tech trails can keep you entertained for awhile

MissJR

not in the mood for your shenanigans
Team MTBNJ Halter's
Honestly, if you're new to biking and consider Morris county parks to have sketchy descents, then I don't think you'll have a good time at mountain creek... Especially this late in the season.