Tubeless Fat Wheels

MixMastaMM

Team Bulldog Rider
Looking to get new wheels for my Beargrease. Must be tubless, middle of the pack on cost. What's the hot setup?

sjeronis

Not sure what hub spacing you need but Borealis sells a tubeless wheelset for $299. Choice of 100 and 80 mm wide. I've been running these for 9 months without any problems. Price is almost to good to believe.

Johnny Utah

Lets backup.....

Is this the 13/14 Alloy Beargrease Frame, Crabon Beargrease, or the Alloy 15/16 Beargrease?

If carbon:

Summer - I9 hubs on Surly Marge Lites set tubeless with Surly Knards (if you are playing in the rocks).

Winter I would go with a Rolling Daryl setup tubeless with a 45north Dillinger 5 (the only 5" tire that will fit a beargrease on a 80mm + rim with out rubbing in packed snow/mud)

If you are racing the bike, different story. Then I would do carbon hoops all day. 90mm nexties on I9's, tires depend on conditions.

Judging by the 170 qr rear end, you have the 13/14 alloy frame.

SmooveP

There's a newer version of the Darryl's that are lighter and are supposed to be more tubeless-friendly: http://surlybikes.com/parts/rims/my_other_brother_darryl

The older Darryls and Marge Lites were a pain to set up tubeless. Nexties have been super easy to set up tubeless in my experience. You can always save a few $ by going with other hubs. I've had good experience with Hope hubs.

MixMastaMM

Team Bulldog Rider
Lets backup.....

Is this the 13/14 Alloy Beargrease Frame, Crabon Beargrease, or the Alloy 15/16 Beargrease?

If carbon:

Summer - I9 hubs on Surly Marge Lites set tubeless with Surly Knards (if you are playing in the rocks).

Winter I would go with a Rolling Daryl setup tubeless with a 45north Dillinger 5 (the only 5" tire that will fit a beargrease on a 80mm + rim with out rubbing in packed snow/mud)

If you are racing the bike, different story. Then I would do carbon hoops all day. 90mm nexties on I9's, tires depend on conditions.