Tales of a Terrible Bike Mechanic

BigDB67

Many of the members on this forum have blown me away by posting some amazing bikes, both old and new, that have been tweaked by your own hands into (IMO) showroom quality bikes. I have been inspired to take a turd Craigslist bike and do a complete overhaul until it is something I can be proud of.

The problem is, when it comes to bikes, I am a terrible mechanic. Around the house, I am a pretty handy guy. I can hang drywall and do the finish work, put in a toilet, change breaks on a car, and etc. But for some reason, if I need to do anything on a bike, it ALWAYS turns out terrible.

Hopefully through the genius of these forums and other internet avenues I will be able to put together something that is:
1.) Safe
2.) Vintage
3.) Unique
4.) Sweet looking

The first step in the process is to find the turd that I can polish. I wanted a road bike that was made prior to 1985. After a grueling 30 minutes of searching Craigslist I came across this gem. A late 70s/early 80s Kabuki road bike.
Kabuki1.jpg
Kabuki2.jpg

The emblem is so legit, once I saw that I had to buy it.
Kabuki3.jpg
Kabuki4.jpg
Kabuki5.jpg
Kabuki6.jpg

For any interested, here is a link to Sheldon Brown’s webpage about these “gems”: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/japan.html#kabuki

I pick it up tonight after work. First step will likely be to strip the bike down and see what is salvageable. I will let you know how that goes when I get there.

check out the "what have you done to your bike today" thread. i did some restore in there and i think a few other people did as well. you can bring back a lot of the metal to super shiny with a little WD-40, super fine steel wool and time.

you gonna repaint?

check out the "what have you done to your bike today" thread. i did some restore in there and i think a few other people did as well. you can bring back a lot of the metal to super shiny with a little WD-40, super fine steel wool and time.

you gonna repaint?