Switched to Clipless

Sven Migot

I went with SPD MULTI RELEASE and never looked back. Way more confident in the rocks.
Can unclip in almost any direction and rarely unclip when I don't want them to.
It's just a different cleat, same pedal.

Ian F

As mentioned - practice. Every once in awhile you'll fall. Hell, it even happens to Pros. I've been running clipless for over 25 years, but once in awhile switch back to flats. As also mentioned, flats force proper technique for jumping and whatnot.

Tim

aka sptimmy43
I did my first ride on clipless pedals today. I took my hardtail out for about 21 miles on roads and bike paths. It was awesome! I had built it up in my mind to be a big deal but it really wasn't. Of course I didn't fall or tip over at a stop light so I am pretty stoked. I hopped a couple curbs and jumped a couple speed bumps so I can now relate to how clipping in can lead to bad habits. I'll have to make a conscious effort to keep my technique sharp.

I am looking forward to a proper MTB ride on the clipless setup but I am sure I will learn firsthand what it's like to need to unclip in an unplanned situation.

I guess I should add that I went with Crank Brothers Mallet E pedals and 5.10 Kestral shoes. I like that the pedals have a "platform" and traction pins for a missed attempt at clipping in and the 5.10s just feel better to me than the other clipless shoes I tried on. I have been wearing Freeriders since I started riding MTB 2 seasons ago and I don't own a stitch of lycra so I would just feel funny wearing baggies with sleek looking XC shoes.

So yeah, so far I am stoked on clips. I'm excited to see where this goes....

Tim

aka sptimmy43
I’ve stuck with it and have taken my licks more than once. Still riding technical things more cautiously but slowly gaining confidence