Looking to learn more about how to shop for a new MTB?

Hey y'all, I'm still new to MTB and made some upgrades to my bike to better suit me, but I'd like to begin figuring out what bikes would suit me and the price range as well so I can begin saving up.

1. My stats: 210lb, 6'1" Male.
2. Places I ride: Lewis Morris, Dickerson Mine, and Allaire
3. What I'm riding now? A Motobecane HT500 from 2008. It's a decent bike, with 26" wheels and a pretty stiff front fork. It's okay, but I feel like I struggle when the trail gets rough.
4. Dual suspension vs Hard Tail? -- I've been leaning towards dual suspension because I feel like in the long run, everyone goes this route. Granted the price would go up, but it buys you a lot.
5. Budget - $1000

I've been looking at Cannondale, mainly because I might be able to get them through work at a good price. The ones I was looking at were the Cujo 2 (Hard Tail) or the Habit 6... But honestly, I have no clue what to look for.

Any suggestions?

Last edited:

qclabrat

First, welcome @DevsAdvocate

You're right, the FS will open your options to more parks, however does come with an expense
Have you demo'd any new bikes yet and what is your budget?

qclabrat

that's right, you turned back with the real Pat at about half way.
For $1K you should be looking at the second hand market. Have you looked at pinkbike.com?
Nowadays an entry level hardtail with decent parts will run you about $1500 and about a thousand more for FS.
Have you thought about tire size, either 27.5 vs 29

that's right, you turned back with the real Pat at about half way.
For $1K you should be looking at the second hand market. Have you looked at pinkbike.com?
Nowadays an entry level hardtail with decent parts will run you about $1500 and about a thousand more for FS.
Have you thought about tire size, either 27.5 vs 29
What's the big deal with tire size? I get bigger = getting over rougher stuff. Some people run 27.5s with larger tires, and those roll over anything.