Having trouble keeping tubeless tires inflated

that VW guy

This is my first time trying to run tubeless, and so far it's been nothing but a pain in the ass. I can't manage to keep anything sealed.

I'm using the following:
Mavic Crossroc wheelset (can be run tubless) 19mm wide
Tubeless rim tape (ddon't know the brand)
Conti Revo sealant
Conti 2.2 MKII (maybe 40 miles on it, ran with a tube I intially)
Conti 2.4 X King (brand new)

No matter what I do, the tire always goes flat in a matter of hours. Beads are popped. I put about 120mL of sealant in each tire, sloshed it all about, wiggled wheel/ttire side to side, rotated a couple inches, more wiggling, etc.

I've been debating going for a ride tomorrow but i sure as shit don't want to risk going out with my tires losing air. And I'm too lazy/too determined to run tubeless.

Any pointers, tips, etc?

Magic

Formerly 1sh0t1b33r
Team MTBNJ Halter's
Probably one of those things we'd need to see in person, at the very least, pics. The brand and width of rim tape is in question for me. Does it go flat just sitting there or with rider weight? I'd try it again with 35-40ish psi and spray some soapy water from a spray bottleall over to see where it's coming from.

clarkenstein

JORBA Board Member/Chapter Leader
JORBA.ORG
Yep. Had the same experience here. Found it to be a messy pain in the butt. So I chose the whats seems to be unpopular route and said screw tubeless, I'll stick with my tubes.

Frank

Sasquatch
If the tires are not tubeless ready, you may need a lot more sealant. The first time i tried tubeless I failed miserably due to the tires not being tubeless ready or UST. I have a set of 29er hoops with tubeless ready tires and gorilla tape on non-tubeless rims and they hold air perfectly. You can also try filling one of those storage totes with water and dip the wheel in sections and look for bubbles. You may be better able to pinpoint your problem after that. Good luck!

that VW guy